Spain is a country situated in the South West of Europe sharing the Iberian peninsula with its smaller neighbour Portugal. It was one of the founding members of the Euro Zone issuing coins from 2002. 

Some basic facts about Spain:

  • Area:  20,035 sq. kilometers
  • Population:  2,050,000 (2012 estimate)
  • Official Language:  Spanish
  • Government Form : Unitary Parlimentary Constitutional Monarchy
  • GDP - Total € 1,075 billion (2012 estimate)
  • GDP - Per Capita € 23,254 (2012 estimate)

Prior to the Euro the official currency was the Spanish Peseta. The conversion rate to the Euro was set at 166.386 to 1 Euro on 1st January 1999.

For more information on Spain, try this link.

Return from Spain to Spanish Euro Coins.