Where is the Euro the official currency ?

In the countries issuing Euro coins you say - well yes obviously but something many people don't know is that in many other countries in Europe, Africa and South America as well several islands, the Euro is also the official currency.

Before looking at the list of countries below, give your imagination free reign and see how many you guess.

Countries issuing Euros (listed alphabetically)

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Finnland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands (Holland)
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Slowakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Vatican

Three of these countries Monaco, San Marion and the Vatican, although issuing there own Euro coins, are not members of the European Union.

ii) Countries not issuing the Euro but having it as the official currency

a) Europe

  • Kosova
  • Montenegro

b) Afrika

The Spanish enclaves

  • Cueta
  • Mellila

c) South America

French Guana

d) Assorted Islands

  • Canary Islands (Spain)
  • Azores (Portugal)
  • Madeira (Portugal)
  • Guadelupe(France)
  • Martinique(France)
  • La RĂ©nion
  • Mayotte
  • Saint-Pierre & Miguelon

Several countries, while retaining their own currencies are now bound to the Euro in the sense that there is a fixed conversion rate between their currencies and the Euro.

These include

in Europe

  • Bosnia-Herzogovina
  • Bulgaria

outside of Europe

  • Cape Verdes
  • French Polynesia
  • New Caledonia
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Comores

the former Frech colonies in Africa

  • Benin
  • Burkina Fasso
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Congo-Braaziville
  • Equitorial Guinea
  • Gabon
  • Ivory Coast
  • Mali
  • Niger
  • Senegal
  • Togo

Whether the Eurozone will expand or contract in the future is, at the moment, debatable.

Several EU members which are not yet in the Eurozone -e.g. Hungary,Bulgaria,Poland.. may well join although due to the Euro crisis some of these,for example Poland,are now noticeably less enthusiastic than previously.

It is also conceivable that some of the current "problem countries" - notably Greece but also Ireland,Portugal and Spain may leave - we shall see!

Return from Eurozone to euro-coin-collector.