Finland is a Scandinavian country situated right in the North of Europe, extending indeed above the arctic circle. It was one of the founding members of the Eurozone, issuing coins from 2002. Although Finnish euro coins were minted from 1999 onwards, they were only brought into circulation at the beginning of 2002.

Some basic facts about Finland:

  • Area:  338,424 sq. kilometers
  • Population:  5,526,774 (2020 estimate)
  • Official Languages:  Finnish, Swedish
  • Government Form : Parliamentary Republic
  • GDP - Total € 277 billion (2018 estimate)
  • GDP - Per Capita € 50,068 (2018 estimate)

Prior to the Euro the official currency was the Finnish Mark. The conversion rate to the Euro was set at 5.94573 to 1 Euro on 1st January 1999.

For more information on Finland, try this link.

Return from Finland to Finnish Euro Coins.